Symphony of Jewels

Annu Hu: Opus 1

By Carol Woolton, David Warren, and Janet Zapata

Photography by David Behl

168 pages

11 x 13 in. , portrait

166 color illustrations

Hardcover with jacket

ISBN 978-0-86565-290-3

US $75 / CAN $86 / GBP £50

"This book details [Hu's] first 99 works—many inspired by classical pieces—in exquisite detail."
Cleveland Plain Dealer

Upcoming Events for this Title

No events scheduled at this time.

Inspired by Chinese art and lore, Western art and music, and the natural world, Anna Hu’s one-of-a-kind pieces have catapulted her to the top of the jewelry firmament in a few short years. This volume celebrates the completion of her first hundred works, or “Opus 1,” as she calls the collection. Exploring the relationship between her jewelry and fashion as well as the remarkable gems that inspired her work, this large-format book focuses on the pieces themselves, exquisitely photographed by master jewelry photographer David Behl. Some are as intricate as Chinese embroidery, others as ethereal as butterflies, and still others are jeweled reinterpretations of timeless works of music and art, from Beethoven’s Moonlight Sonata and Puccini’s Turandot to Monet’s Water Lilies.

Janet Zapata is a renowned historian of decorative arts and jewelry.

Carol Woolton is jewelry editor of British Vogue.

David Warren has headed Christie’s jewelry department since 1995.

David Behl is one of the world’s leading photographers of fine jewels. His many books include The Art of Zadora, Seaman Schepps, and Yard.